top of page
Search

Moon and Sun: Part Two

Updated: Sep 7, 2022

"Zelena, wait!"


My breath comes out in heavy rasps as I pump my arms to push forward. Glancing back over my shoulder, I watch as Cyra chases after me. Her silver curls are a mess around her pale face, and she clutches her long, purple dress to keep from tripping as she runs.


Laughter escapes me as I turn forward again. I can't stop running. The eclipse is about to begin, and I wouldn't miss it for anything. That moment when the Lunar and Solar Kingdoms are able to see one another is what I look forward to each day.


As the Princess of the Lunar Kingdom, I do not have very many things that excite me.


Everything from my meals to my future, is planned for me. For instance, my future will consist of lessons, attending parties, marrying a chosen partner, and running my Kingdom. All of these are things decided for me. After awhile, being unable to make decisions about my own life becomes dull and daunting, so I try to find amusement in things I can control.


One of those things is my going to see the Eclipse Bridge. During any Lunar or Solar eclipse, our two Kingdoms come into view of one another. We are able to look into each other's homes, and for three minutes, a bridge forms between the sun and moon. Crossing it is dangerous and forbidden; people from the Lunar Kingdom cannot live in the conditions of the Solar Kingdom, nor can the people from the Solar Kingdom live in the conditions of the Lunar Kingdom.


Our worlds are simply too different.


Even so, every year, my heart pulls me in the direction of the bridge, and I long to cross it. Whether it be for a fleeting moment or until the very last second until the bridge closes, I want to go there.


I need to go there.


I reach the large hedge covered in silver dust that spans the border of the Lunar Castle. If I climb to the top, I can watch the passing of our two worlds. If I jump over the top, I can cross the bridge. I can enter the forbidden world.


Do I climb, or do I dare to jump?


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page