top of page
Search

The Beginning of Gabriel and Ivee: Part One

Updated: Sep 7, 2022

When did it start? Was there ever even a beginning to our story, or did it just start without any definite beginning? That is the difficult part about us angels. We have no such concepts, such as a "birth". One day we weren't, and the next, we were. That is all there is to it.


Even so, we winged creations occasionally wonder about those sort of terms. The beginning. It would be nice to understand the start of some things; for example, I sometimes wonder at what point my emotionless, hardened heart went out to Gabriel. When was that beginning? When was the start of that story?


Maybe it was...


"Ivee!"


I jumped slightly as Gabriel's gentle call rang in my ears. Whipping my head to the side, I brought myself back to the present. Gabriel sat next to me amidst the clouds that acted as our perch to watch Earth from the Heavens.


Smiling at me, his shining, silver eyes crinkled slightly at the sides. As an angel, I am not capable of having human emotions. Or at least, I shouldn't be able to. Still, every time I caught a glimpse of this beautiful man's smile, it stirred something inside of me. It caused a slight flutter in the center of my chest, one I had dismissed numerous times. Despite my dismissals though, it always returned.


When I was able to see those silver eyes, those waves of blond hair that he kept tied back with a ribbon, that amazing smile that fit his pink lips perfectly, or his large, frost colored wings. Not only did these things cause me to feel a gripping sensation inside, but so did his gentle yet firm voice, his warm presence, and his tender touch.


"Has he reached Earth yet?" I asked, bringing myself away from my thoughts. I needed to focus. We had a job to do.


Gabriel nodded and peered through the light in between the clouds. Watching angels being cast out of Heaven to become Fallen was part of the job that he and I did together. We worked as partners in everything, and we always had since the beginning, whenever that beginning may have been.


Gabriel looked sideways at me, his grin still plastered on his rosy cheeks. "Your hair has gotten longer again."


Looking down at my hair, I realized that he was right. That was one of the three things I was known for - my long, white hair, my red slitted serpent eyes, and my ability to heal all wounds. My hair was now long enough to drag across the ground when I was standing.

I laughed slightly. "It is, isn't it? Maybe I should cut some off?"


Grabbing a strand of hair, I inspected it. Gabriel reached over and gently took my hand in his. I looked up into his eyes as he smiled at me.


"No. Leave it. It's beautiful on you."


I grinned and nodded at him. Warmth spread inside of me, starting from my chest and working its way out. I still didn't know how he was able to do this to me. He was the one person, one angel, who could stir me up in such a way.


Like I said, I don't know when all of these feelings started. I cannot define that beginning, but I don't think I need to either. These stirrings, this warmth started somewhere. Whether it was at my initial creation as an angel or after thousands of years of being next to him, I am thankful for the here and now.


It is this here and now; this moment with us sitting side by side among the dimming sunlight and soft clouds that I will consider as the beginning.


Our beginning.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page